

Schengen Area FAQ's

Please note that this is our understanding of the Schengen restrictions and it remains your responsibility to confirm the accuracy. The information is current as of 20th April 2021 but is subject to change.

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area signifies a 'zone where 26 European countries, abolished their internal borders, for the free and unrestricted movement of people, in harmony with common rules for controlling external borders and fighting criminality by strengthening the common judicial system and police cooperation'.

What countries are in the Schengen Area?

Germany, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland as well as 3 micro states: Monaco, Vatican City, and San Marino.

Are all EU countries in the Schengen Area?

No, Ireland, Bulgaria, Romania, Croatia and the principality of Andorra are not in the Schengen area.

Are all Schengen Area countries in the EU?

No, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Iceland are all in the Schengen area but are not members of the EU.

What is a 'Third Country'?

The official European Union regulations define a "third country" as one that is "not a member of the European Union as well as a country or territory whose citizens do not enjoy the European Union right to free movement". Since Brexit, the UK is considered a 'Third Country'.

What is the '90 days limit in 180 days'?

The rules for travelling or working in European countries changed on 1 January 2021 when the UK left the European Union (Brexit).

UK passport holders can travel to countries in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any 180-day period without a visa. This applies if you travel as a tourist, to visit family or friends, to attend business meetings, cultural or sports events, or for short-term studies or training. Visits to Schengen countries within the previous 180 days before you travel count towards your 90 days.



How will a Schengen/European country know how long I have been in the country?

Since BREXIT, UK travellers will need to go through a different section of passport control where their passports may be stamped to show a date of entry/exit. There are plans to introduce an online Visa-waiver application system similar to an ESTA for the United States.

What happens if I stay longer than 90 days in 180 in the Schengen zone?

Each country has a different arrangement. This may range from a fine up to a ban on future visits to that country.

<u>Is there any way that I can stay longer in the Schengen zone with a visa or residence permit?</u>

Each country has its own arrangement for extended stays (more than 90 days in 180). This could be a visa or temporary residence. Each country sets its own application process and criteria for granting the visa/temporary residence.

Why are BSA not pursuing the possible options to seek visas or residence permits?

There are several reasons:

- BSA has always operated on a flexible basis. Visa applications can be lengthy; to rely on visa would mean that it would restrict last minute decisions for our athletes to train for longer.
- The process is not always successful.
- COVID has impacted every country's ability to process things such as visas.
- There is still a lot of uncertainty as to what the season may look like because of COVID; not needing a visa allows us to adapt our programme at short notice.
- A visa application only gives you the right to remain in that country beyond the 90 days limit. The 90 days will still apply to all other Schengen countries.

What are other academies doing?

We are not aware of how other academies are managing this restriction. Each academy operates under a slightly different method/business model and most are located in a different country to BSA.

Do Elite Athletes get an exception?

Currently, there are no exceptions to the '90/180' day rule.